The Maison Servais

A Past: The Maison Servais in the 19th century

DistillerieSince the Middle Ages the site on which the CNL is located has been known as Udingen-lez-Mersch.

The Maison Servais – as it presents itself today – was built in 1788 by the notary Philippe Servais (1738-1801). During the time of Napoleon’s French Campaign, the house played host to Austro-Prussian soldiers.

In 1829, Antoine Servais (1778-1859), son of Philippe Servais, fit the distillery on the grounds with the first steam engine in the country. In 1832 he purchased the foundry at Weilerbach, as well as the Weilerbach castle and its annexes.

Antoine Servais had three sons: Philippe, Joseph and Emmanuel Servais. Philippe Servais (1810-1890) was appointed heir to his father’s foundry, Joseph Servais (1819-1890) founded a sugar factory in Mersch (the “Société Anonyme Sucrière du Luxembourg”) while Emmanuel Servais (1811-1890) decided to pursue a political career.

Towards the end of the 19th century, Auguste Servais Sr. (1865-1922), the son of Joseph Servais, established the “Grande Distillerie de Mersch”, while his brother, Félix Servais (1873-1916) chose a literary path.

The last members of the Servais family to live in the Maison Servais were the grandchildren of Joseph Servais, the notary Auguste Servais Jr. (1901-1970) and his sister Jeanne (1899-1985). Auguste Servais, nicknamed ‘Men’, set up his notary office on the ground floor of the house. He died unmarried in 1970.

Among these illustrious generations of Servais, Emmanuel Servais left the biggest mark on the history of his country.


A Name: Emmanuel Servais

Emmanuel ServaisEmmanuel Servais, born in Mersch in 1811, studied law before embarking on a dazzling career in politics. He served as Prime Minister, President of the Council of State, President of the Chamber of Deputies and Mayor of the City of Luxembourg.

During his time in office, Emmanuel Servais participated in the drafting of four constitutions for the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg (1841, 1848, 1856 and 1868) and signed the Treaty of London in 1867 with Prime Minister Victor de Tornaco.

As well as having a political career, Emmanuel Servais was also a proficient writer, publishing studies on pre-Second Punic War Roman institutions as well as many articles, speeches and memoirs.

His autobiography was published posthumously. It was re-edited and republished by the Fondation Servais.


A Future: Tradition and Conversion

Jeanne et Men ServaisAfter Auguste Jr.’s death, Jeanne Servais lived alone in the Maison Servais. In 1971 she had central heating installed on the ground floor. Three years later she ensured that the house became listed as a historic building (“inventaire des sites et monuments nationaux”). As she had no direct heirs, she left the house in her will to the Municipality of Mersch.

Jeanne Servais died on 19 April 1985. In accordance with the law of 29 December 1988, an exchange was made between the Municipality of Mersch and the State: Mersch castle was given to the Municipality and the State received the Maison Servais.

The Maison Servais was listed as a national monument by the government in 1990. On 13 October 1995, the Centre national de littérature opened its doors. On 25 June 2004, it became a national cultural institute.

The annexe of the CNL – the Maison Becker-Eiffes –  was part of the property belonging to the Servais family in the 19th century. The building was acquired by the State on 7 May 1999 at an auction. Renovation was undertaken from 2003 to 2009.

Today, the CNL consists of the Maison Servais, the annexe Becker-Eiffes and two independent studios.

Within the historical setting of the Maison Servais you can find a library, a reading room, a conference room, exhibition rooms as well as offices. The archives are held in climate controlled storage deposits in the annexe, where there are also offices. The studios are available to writers-in-residence, researchers and lecturers. The CNL’s grounds include a garden, which is open to the public.

  • Updated 08-12-2016

La Maison Servais

Un passé : la Maison Servais au 19e siècle

Distillerie

Le site du Centre national de littérature est connu depuis le Moyen Âge sous le nom d’Udingen-lez-Mersch.

La Maison Servais, telle qu'elle se présente aujourd'hui, y a été construite en 1788 par le notaire Philippe Servais (1738-1801).
Durant les années de la Campagne de France, la Maison accueille des officiers austro-prussiens.

Après la Révolution, Antoine Servais (1778-1859), fils de Philippe Servais, équipe la distillerie qui se trouve sur la propriété de la première machine à vapeur du pays (1829). En 1832, il achète les forges de Weilerbach, ainsi que le château et les dépendances.

Antoines Servais avait trois fils : Philippe, Joseph et Emmanuel Servais. C’est Philippe Servais (1810-1890) qui est désigné comme successeur de son père en tant que maître de forges, tandis que Joseph Servais (1819-1890) fonde une industrie sucrière, la "Société Anonyme Sucrière du Luxembourg", à Mersch. Emmanuel Servais (1811-1890), quant à lui, épouse une carrière politique.

Le fils de Joseph Servais, Auguste Servais sr (1865-1922), crée, vers la fin du 19e siècle, la "Grande Distillerie de Mersch" sur la propriété, tandis que son frère, Félix Servais (1873-1916), s’adonne à la littérature.

Par la suite, les derniers membres de la famille Servais qui occupèrent la Maison Servais furent le notaire Auguste Servais jr (1901-1970) et sa sœur Jeanne (1899-1985), petits-enfants de Joseph Servais. Auguste Servais, dit Men, installe son étude de notaire au rez-de-chaussée de la maison. Il meurt, célibataire, en 1970.
Parmi ces générations de Servais qui s’illustrent dans divers domaines, c’est pourtant Emmanuel Servais qui entrera dans l’histoire de son pays.




Un nom : Emmanuel ServaisEmmanuel Servais

Emmanuel Servais, né à Mersch en 1811, entame, après des études de droit, une carrière politique fulgurante. Il devient en effet Président du Gouvernement, Président du Conseil d’État, Président de la Chambre des Députés et Bourgmestre de la Ville de Luxembourg.

Surtout, Emmanuel Servais participe à l’élaboration de quatre constitutions du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg (1841, 1848, 1856 et 1868) et signe, avec Victor de Tornaco, le Traité de Londres de 1867.

Moins connu pour ses talents d’écrivain que pour sa carrière politique, Emmanuel Servais publie cependant des études approfondies sur les institutions romaines d'avant la 2e Guerre punique, de nombreux articles, discours et mémoires.

Il transmet par ailleurs à la postérité une autobiographie, rééditée par la Fondation Servais.





Un avenir : tradition et reconversionJeanne et Men Servais

Après la mort d’Auguste jr, Jeanne Servais vit seule dans la grande maison. En 1971, elle fait installer le chauffage central au rez-de-chaussée. Trois ans plus tard, elle veille à faire inscrire la Maison sur l'inventaire des sites et monuments nationaux. La relève n’étant assurée par aucune descendance, elle décide alors, dans l’espoir d'assurer une survie à la Maison Servais, de léguer, à sa mort, la propriété à la Commune de Mersch.

Jeanne Servais décède le 19 avril 1985. En vertu de la loi du 29 décembre 1988, un acte d'échange est effectué entre la Commune de Mersch et l'Etat: la propriété du Château de Mersch passe entre les mains de la Commune, moyennant quoi, la propriété de la Maison Servais passe entre les mains de l'Etat.

La Maison Servais est classée monument national par le Gouvernement en 1990. Le 13 octobre 1995, le Centre national de littérature ouvre ses portes. Il devient institut culturel de l’État par la loi du 25 juin 2004.

L’annexe du Centre national de littérature, dite Maison Becker-Eiffes qui faisait partie de la propriété de la famille Servais au 19e siècle – est quant à elle acquise par l’Etat par voie de vente aux enchères le 7 mai 1999. Des travaux de rénovation y sont effectués de 2003 à 2009.

Aujourd’hui, les activités du Centre national de littérature se répartissent entre la Maison Servais, l’annexe Becker-Eiffes et deux studios indépendants.

La Maison Servais abrite, dans un cadre historique, une bibliothèque, une salle de lecture, une salle de conférence, des salles d’exposition ainsi que des bureaux. Les archives sont hébergées dans des dépôts climatisés de l’annexe, où se situent également des bureaux. Ces locaux sont équipés d’installations permettant une conservation documentaire adéquate. Les studios, quant à eux, peuvent être mis à disposition d’écrivains en résidence d’auteur ou de chercheurs. Les bâtiments du CNL sont entourés d’un parc ouvert au public.

  • Mis à jour le 19-05-2016